Christmas Love

photo 1

As time goes on, Christmas continues to become a commercialized holiday in which people become obsessed with the material things and don’t stop to appreciate all that surrounds them. When Christmas ends, people are already preparing for Boxing Day events so they can continue to hoard even more stuff. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve been guilty of this year after year but I think something needs to change.

A few days ago, I got to use a typewriter for the first time ever and fell in love! The first thing that came to mind when I sat down in front of it was my favourite movie,Β Moulin Rouge. At the beginning of the film, the main character Christian sits at his typewriter and types out the sentence seen above. I think it perfectly sums up what we all need to appreciate more during the holiday season. So as I close up this post, I hope that everyone has a safe and happy holidays, filled with loved ones. Even if just for a minute you sit and soak in all the goodness that surrounds you, that’s achieving more than the commodified holiday that the media and huge corporations convey to us.

Merry Christmas everyone!

xo,

– J. Vo

Leave a Reply

